BankingCredit Cards › TD Emerald Visa* Card

TD Emerald Visa* Card

 

Chat Now   How to Apply or call 1-800-983-8472

emerald card
Apply for a TD Credit Card
emerald travel award
student low rate award

Great value with a low
interest rate

Important:
As of June 19th 2017, the TD Emerald
Visa* Card name will be updated to the
TD Emerald Flex Rate Visa* Card. If you have any questions about your Card's updated name and image please contact us at 1-800-983-8472.

secure login  How to Apply   Compare

Annual Fees

$25

Authorized Users

Free (up to 3)1

Interest:

TD Prime +1.50%

up to TD Prime +12.75%2

Credit Limit

$1,000 minimum

Eligibility Requirements

Is this the right Card for you?

A good choice if:

  • You want to save on interest at a preferred low variable interest rate on Day to Day Purchases, Balance Transfers, and Cash Advances charged to your credit card
  • You want financial flexibility and access to credit at a low interest rate
  • You want purchasing convenience worldwide and instant access to cash
  • You want no Annual Fee for Authorized User Cards1

Benefits of this Card


TD Emerald Visa Card     is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 614.
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_64, tr_550
  • loc_en_CA, sid_0007, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tdbank-ca
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getAggregateRating, method:CLOUD, 73ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lowest interest rate with TD Has a low interest rate, great for students and even better for an overspent adult. the interest rates could be cheaper considering the amount of accounts I have with TD
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Card was good, affiliates not = cancelled My experience with the Visa part of the corporation was good. I had preferred interest rate and new the account was secure. The problem came from the insurance side of the corporation. Sending a file to collection based on their sole opinion soiled the relationship. My only business with them now is my RRSP which is subject to move soon.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the lower interest Easy to use flexible, I love love the lower interest rate that I have. I wish that I would have some tools in place for example text to my phone or email when the credit card payment is due every month. As I am getting older (so is my memory:) keeping track of all of my payments and maintenance of my account is becoming more challenging, even though my intention is to maintain excellent standing with the bank. I am planning to continue using my credit card in the future not fully sure if I am utilizing all it features and benefits. I have no problem to pay annual fee as long as the interest stays lower. Never have any problems with transactions and my bill is very accurate.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great option when paying off your credit card I chose this card because at the time I needed to pay off my credit card - I was cautious not to use my card while doing so - This card has the lowest interest rate. I just wish it allowed you to collect points as well similar to the travel cards
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great unless you travel Recently went for a week trip to mexico and was unable to use the card the whole trip. Before the trip I called in to advise of travel and received an automated message it was no longer necessary due to an algorithm. Unfortunately the algorithm decided me trying to take out cash on my first day to pay for things and tip was suspicious. Couldn't use the card the entire trip. Received a voicemail of "suspicious activity" when I got back but by then it was too late. My trip was heavily impacted and limited as a result and my trust in the VISA name destroyed .
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from convenient I chose this card because of the good interest rate
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great interest rate! I use my TD emerald visa because I sometimes need to carry a balance and it has a very low interest rate. I do have other credit cards but always choose to use my TD Emerald visa.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low interest! Love the low interest, when I have to carry a balance.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I chose it because it gives me the fair interest based on my rating.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Flexibility As a student transitioning to a worker it gave me great options at ny fingertips
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Rate I chose this card because the interest rate is low and it has stayed consistently low.
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great All Around Visa Card I originally chose this card because of the great flexible interest rate which was quite low and have not regretted doing so for even a moment. I've also never come across any issues with its use.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I am very happy with TD Emerald Credit Card. They have wonderful customer service, the interest are very low. I can use it in other countries and almost everywhere to pay.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Card I like the ease of use with the card as well as the instant checks from TD when the card is used in an unusual fashion or unusual location. The only thing I don't like (applies to all credit cards) is that it is billed in 25 day increments, unlike ALL other bills on the planet (billed monthly).
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from low interest low interest but very rear offered no interest cheques.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pour features I had a TD Emerald Visa a few years ago and progressively got better interest rates. Now every year through paying more than the minimum payment well before the due date I'm rewarded every year by my interest rate increasing. Shouldn't it go down??? My mother carries the same card with a 6% interest rate, why is mine 13+
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from TD emerald VISA i chose this card because I thought the interest rate was low.The interest rate is too high for me.I need the lowest interest rate that you can offer
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Low interest I chose this card for the low interest as I usually run a balance, I only wish there had been rewards attached to it as I've used it for years and it's my primary card.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from we could be better it always works for me but I would love to see more of a return for me
Date published: 2015-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good card I chose this card because it has a lower interest rate than the previous card I had. I didn't find I used the "benefits" I earned with the previous card, so this was more useful to me
Date published: 2015-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Low interest and easy to use every where.
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I thought it would be the best for me. I really thought this card would work for me but due to the interest-rate i'm just working at paying the card off and not using it again!
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday Visa Card TD Emerald Visa has been the best card to use for day to day purchases, and unexpected purchases. Great interest rate for those who carry or need to carry a balance.
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Emerald Visa I love the low interest rate and the special rate offers are the best! The card is also offered in my favourite colour! The security is awesome too.
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gives you piece of mind I chose this card because of the lower interest rates and it helps keep the 'rules' simple. There are no other benefits that come with the card.
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rates! We enjoy the high level of service, the attention to security, and the excellent interest rates that we get with this card. Keep up the great work!
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent feature An excellent featureI chose this card because if it's feature I really needed a card that I could get with a lower interest rate and I am extremely pleased
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Td Emerald visa I like this Visa card because it's a low rate
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low interest I needed a card that had lower than 20% interest. This one was ideal for me.
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Emerald I chose this card because it saves me interest rates.
Date published: 2015-10-28
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_64, tr_550
  • loc_en_CA, sid_0007, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tdbank-ca
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getReviews, method:CLOUD, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

ExpandAutomotive Features

Receive special automotive benefits that help you get from A to B.

Avis Rent-A-Car and Budget Rent-A-Car preferred rates4,5

  • Save 5% to 25% off the lowest available discountable time and mileage retail rate on qualifying car rentals from Avis and Budget when the rental is charged to your Card.
  • For Avis rentals, visit avis.com/tdcreditcards or call 1-800-879-2847 to reserve. Quote Avis Worldwide Discount (AWD) #C078400 at time of reservation.
  • For Budget rentals, visit budget.com/tdcreditcards or call 1-800-268-2900 to reserve. Quote Budget Customer Discount (BCD) #A331700 at time of reservation .

Optional TD Auto Club Membership6

With optional Deluxe or Standard TD Auto Club Membership, you and your family will enjoy peace of mind knowing that in the event of a road emergency, help is just a phone call away. For information and to enroll, call 1-800-245-0297.


ExpandEveryday Services

Convenient services that make your banking experience more comfortable.

Balance Transfers7 at a preferred low variable interest rate

  • You can use our Balance Transfer service to consolidate your debts from other non-TD Credit Cards, quickly and easily to your TD Credit Card.
  • Just transfer the balance from your other credit cards to your Emerald Visa Card in real time.
  • By doing this you can keep track of your expenses with one monthly payment as opposed to multiple payments.

For more information, visit us at your nearest TD Canada Trust branch.

Search by Address, Intersection, City, Postal Code OR by Branch Number.

24-hour Cash and Account access8 at a preferred low variable interest rate

With your TD Emerald Visa Card, you have access to:

  • Instant Cash Advances, subject to your available credit limit, at over one million ATMs worldwide, at all TD Canada Trust branches and at select financial institutions around the world.
  • The flexibility and freedom to manage your Account, your way, through Green Machine ATMs, EasyWeb Internet banking, EasyLine telephone banking and your wireless phone – download the TD mobile app for immediate, secure access to TD's mobile banking service (td.com/app).

To register for EasyWeb or EasyLine, call 1-866-222-3456.

Exclusive access to TDRewards.com

As a TD Credit Cardholder, you have exclusive access to TDRewards.com so you can treat yourself to more.

Pre-Authorized Payments

For added convenience after you open your TD Credit Card Account, you can arrange to have your TD Credit Card payments automatically withdrawn from your bank account at any Canadian financial institution. Simply choose whether you want to make your Minimum Payment or pay your balance in full each month and your payment will be withdrawn from your personal chequing or savings account on the Payment Due Date.

Visa payWave* Technology

A secure and easy contactless payment system for small dollar purchases that's faster and more convenient than paying with cash. Visa payWave can be faster than using cash and most Visa payWave transactions take only seconds to perform. When prompted, simply wave your chip-enabled TD Visa Card in front of the merchant terminal displaying the Visa payWave logo. When you hear the "beep", you're done! If you would like a receipt, you can request one from the merchant.

Visa Checkout10

Visa Checkout is an easier way to pay online. Sign up for Visa Checkout, a service available from Visa that simplifies the online checkout process.10 It's available anywhere you see the Visa Checkout logo.

Learn more about Visa Checkout


ExpandSecurity

No matter where you shop, make your transactions more secure.

Chip & PIN technology

  • TD Visa Cards with Chip and PIN technology provide an added level of security through the use of a Personal Identification Number (PIN).
  • A required PIN makes it much more difficult for unauthorized users to copy or access the information on your TD Credit Card.

Emergency Cash Advances8

You can ask for an emergency Cash Advance up to $500 for TD Emerald Visa Card (subject to your available credit limit).

Verified by Visa

Verified by Visa provides you with increased security when you shop online.


ExpandOptional Coverage

To help protect you from some of the really difficult times in life, optional coverage is available for purchase.

Optional Travel Medical Insurance3

Enjoy the security that comes with Travel Medical Insurance. When you're on a trip, the last thing you want to be concerned about is your medical coverage. Going out of province or country, Travel Medical Insurance covers you for eligible medical emergency expenses so you can enjoy your trip. Choose between Annual Plan coverage (the best value for frequent travellers) which includes Trip Interruption and Trip Cancellation coverages, or Per Trip coverage for occasional travelers.

Optional Balance Protection insurance9

Optional Balance Protection insurance products are designed to assist in managing your credit obligations on your TD Credit Card(s) in the event of your Involuntary Unemployment, Loss of Self-Employment Income, Disability Requiring Hospitalization, Total Disability, Dismemberment, Critical Illness or Death. To learn more about optional Balance Protection insurance products, call 1-866-315-9069 or visit tdcanadatrust.com/BP.


Ways to Apply

Special Applications

If you’re new to Canada, rebuilding your credit, or a student, we have special options just for you.

Find out more

Smiling TD Customer Service Representatives

Contact us

Our banking specialists
are ready to answer any questions you might have.

1-800-983-2582
or email us

A map of TD branches and Green Machines

Locate a branch

By Address, Intersection, City, Postal Code OR by Branch Number.

Other Cards you might be interested in

Not sure which Card
is right for you?


Our Credit Card Selector
will help you choose.


Three stacked TD Credit Cards

Help me choose a Credit Card

View all Cards

New to Canada?

If you arrived in Canada within the last two years, TD offers credit cards in addition to a banking package which includes the ability to apply for a credit card without having Canadian credit history.